回到歷史網頁(上一層

粒子物理摘要


次原子世界

加速器時代之前的粒子

到1930 中對於物質基本結構的理解似乎幾近完全,十年前,拉塞福( Rutherford )展示出原子有相對很小但很重的原子核量子理論已經提出了原子光譜和電子軌道的觀念,中子的發現解釋了原子核的同位素,所以質子、中子電子提供了所有物質的構成要素 ,然而還有一些困惑:是什麼使得質子和中子結合在一起而形成原子核?
是什麼力在原子核放射衰變中放出α、β和γ射線?

進入加速器時代

為了研究原子核和形成它的中子質子作用力,物理學家需要一個能夠在很小的核中探查的工具,像較早的散射實驗就能探查原子內部,加速器是個能使物理學家以產生高動量和短波長的粒子來分析非常微小結構的工具,組合波的波長 () 反比於粒子(= h/p)的動量 (p),在這裡 h = 浦朗克常數。

粒子實驗探究在加速器中產生的高能粒子的碰撞,在現代實驗中,巨大多層的偵測器圍繞在碰撞點的周圍,偵測器的每一層有追蹤和識別每一個可能在單一碰撞所產生的粒子的不同功能。

粒子劇增

出乎物理學家的意料,加速器實驗顯示出粒子的世界非常豐富:有許多類似質子和中子的粒子型態 (叫做重子) - 所有的粒子新家族叫介子 -被發現了,在1960年早期,約數以百計的粒子型態已經確定,而物理學家對於基本力的了解仍不完全。

夸克提案

在1964年,兩個物理學家 -膠利吉曼( Murray Gell-Mann)和喬治滋威( George Zweig) -各別想出了中子和質子以及所有新的粒子能被以更小物體的一些類型來說明;吉曼稱它們為夸克,他們能用夸克的三種類型(現在叫使奇異)和它們的反夸克說明所有所觀察到的重子和介子 他們想法產生基本上改變的部分就是他們必需在每一個質子電荷中分配夸克為2/3和-1/3的電荷數;這樣的電荷數從來就沒有人見過!

反夸克是夸克的反物質伙伴;它們有對於相應的夸克有相同的質量但相反的電性,當夸克遇到了反夸克,它們可能會滅絕,消失而變成別種類型的能量。

標準模型

差不多經過三十年與許多實驗之後,夸克的想法被証實了,它現在是基本粒子和作用力標準模型的一部份,新發現已顯示出共有六種夸克(給予它們古怪的名字上、下、奇異、魅、底,按重量增加排列順序),當然也有六種包括電子的粒子類型,叫作輕子。標準模型說明了夸克和輕子的強作用力、弱作用力和電磁作用力,且如此解釋了原子核束縛的型式以及衰變。

由夸克構成的粒子

像未見過的夸克分數電荷量的原因是因為夸克從未被發現是分離的,但只有在混合粒子內叫做強子,一共有兩種強子:重子,它包括三個夸克以及輕子,包含一個夸克和一個反夸克,在標準模型圖解裡的樣品強子表中有提供許多已知粒子的一些範例,由最先五個夸克型態所構成的粒子已經被製造出來且放在加速器中研究著,頂夸克很重,物理學家花了很多年並用高能加速器才製造出來,1995年四月頂夸克終於在費米國家實驗室被發現了。

輕子

相較於夸克,任六個輕子都可能單獨地被發現,電子是最為人所熟知的輕子,另外兩個帶電輕子μ介子(在1936年被發現)和τ介子(在1975年被發現)不同於電子的地方只在於它們較電子重。 

另外三個輕子是很難以捉摸的粒子,叫做微中子,它沒有電荷且質量很小,相應於帶電輕子的每種類型都會有一種微中子的類型 ,六種輕子每一 個都有一同質量與相反電性的反輕子。



力和作用力

現在我們知道了物質的構成要素,但我們還是必需要問:是什麼使它結合在一起?所有的力都導因於粒子的潛在作用力,作用力來自於四種類型:萬有引力、電磁力、強作用力和弱作用力,也許萬有引力是最為我們所知的,但它並不包含在標準模型中,這是因為它在粒子過程中的影響很微小而且物理學家還未想出如何將它包含在內。

電磁力也很熟悉;它們將電子束縛在原子核而形成電中性的原子,原子因它們帶電的結構而產生的電磁作用結合而形成分子或晶體 ,大部份每天的力,就像支撐地板或是摩擦力都是因為在物質中的電磁力抵抗原子或電子從它們在物質平衡位置上的位移。

在粒子過程中描述了力是因為粒子的交換;每一種力都有相關的攜帶粒子,電磁力的攜帶粒子是光子;γ射線就是光子從原子核轉變的名字。

舉個遠大於原子核的大小例來說,殘留的兩個力只有很小的影響--所以我們在日常生活中未曾注意到它們,但我們藉由它們知道構成世界的所有材料以及使得一些物質類型不穩定的衰變過程。

強作用力將夸克結合在一起而成強子;它的攜帶粒子很奇怪地叫做膠子,因為它們很成功的將夸克"粘"在一起 ,把質子和中子束縛在一起形成核是剩餘強作用力的影響,因為它們的夸克和膠子激烈作用而構成,輕子就沒有強作用力。

弱作用力只是夸克變成另一種型的夸克,或是輕子變另一種輕子的過程,這就是所有較重的夸克和輕子能變成較輕的夸克和輕子的原因 這也是為什麼在我們周遭穩定的物質只包含電子和最輕的兩種夸克(),弱作用力的攜帶粒子是 W 和 Z 玻色子,原子核的β衰變是最先觀察到的弱作用力過程:在一個有足夠能量的原子核中,中子變成質子而放出電子和反電子微中子,這個衰變改變了核的原子數,β射線就是脫出電子的名字。

現在我們已解釋了β和γ射線;那α呢?α粒子是氦核 - 核分裂的產物之一,分裂是重核分離而成較小的核;發生在所有小核的總質量小於母核質量時,這是剩餘強作用力的影響。

還有什麼問題?

標準模型回答了許多關於物質的六種夸克、六種輕子和四個作用力的結構與穩定之問題。

但標準模型留下了許多其它未解的問題:為什麼每個電荷會有三種夸克和輕子呢?它們的質量有些什麼型式嗎?在更高能的加速器有發現更多粒子和力的類型嗎?夸克和輕子真是的基本嗎?它們也有結構嗎?如何把萬有引力的作用概括進來?什麼粒子形成宇宙中的黑暗物質?

像這樣的問題促使粒子物理學家建立和運作新的加速器,高能加速器能提供關於他們問題的線索。


回到歷史網頁(上一層)

back to history page

A Summary of Particle Physics


Particles Prior to Accelerators

By the mid 1930s, the understanding of the fundamental structure of matter seemed almost complete. Decades before, Rutherford had shown that atoms have relatively tiny but massive nuclei. The quantum theory had made sense of atomic spectra and electron orbitals. The discovery of the neutron had explained nuclear isotopes. So protons, neutrons, and electrons provided the building blocks of all matter. Some puzzles remained, however:
What holds the protons and neutrons together to form the nucleus?
What are the forces involved in the radioactive decays of nuclei that make alpha, beta, and gamma rays?

Enter the Accelerator

To study the nucleus and the interactions of neutrons and protons that form it, physicists needed a tool that could probe within the tiny nucleus, as earlier scattering experiments had probed within the atom. The accelerator is a tool that allows physicists to resolve very small structures by producing particles with very high momentum and thus short wavelength. The wavelength () of the associated wave is inversely proportional to the momentum (p) of the particle (= h/p), where h = Planck's constant.

Particle experiments study collisions of high energy particles produced at accelerators. In modern experiments, large multi-layered detectors surround the collision point. Each layer of the detector serves a separate function in tracking and identifying each of the many particles that may be produced in a single collision.

The Particle Explosion

To the surprise of the physicists, accelerator experiments revealed that the world of particles was very rich; many more particle types similar to protons and neutrons (called baryons) - and a whole new family of particles called mesons - were discovered. By the early 1960s a hundred or so types of particles had been identified, and physicists still had no complete understanding of the fundamental forces.

The Quark Proposal

In 1964, two physicists - Murray Gell-Mann and George Zweig - independently hit upon the idea that neutrons and protons and all those new particles could be explained by a few types of yet smaller objects; Gell-Mann called them quarks. They could explain all the observed baryons and mesons with just three types of quarks (now called up, down, and strange) and their antiquarks. The revolutionary part of their idea was that they had to assign the quarks electric charges of 2/3 and -1/3 in units of the proton charge; such charges had never been observed!

Antiquarks are the antimatter partners of quarks; they have the same masses as, but the opposite charge from, the corresponding quarks. When a quark meets an antiquark, they may annihilate, disappearing to give some other form of energy.

The Standard Model

Nearly thirty years and many experiments later, the quark idea has been confirmed. It is now part of the Standard Model of Fundamental Particles and Interactions. New discoveries have shown that there are six types of quarks (given the odd names of up, down, strange, charm, bottom, and top, in order of increasing mass). Also, there are six types of particles including the electron, called leptons. The Standard Model accounts for the strong, weak, and electromagnetic interactions of the quarks and leptons, and thus explains the patterns of nuclear binding and decays.

The Particles Made from Quarks

The reason that fractional electric charges like those of quarks have not been seen is that the quarks are never found separately, but only inside composite particles called hadrons. There are two classes of hadrons: baryons, which contain three quarks, and mesons, which contain one quark and one antiquark. The sample hadron tables on the Standard Model chart give a few examples of the many known particles. Particles made from the first five quark types have been produced and studied at accelerators. The top quark is so massive it took many years and very high-energy accelerators to produce it. The top quark was finally discovered in April 1995 at Fermilab.

The Leptons

In contrast to the quarks, any of the six leptons may by found by itself. The electron is the best known lepton. Two other charged leptons, the muon, (discovered in 1936) and the tau (discovered in 1975) differ from the electron only in that they are more massive than it.

The other three leptons are very elusive particles called neutrinos, which have no electric charge and very little, if any, mass. There is one type of neutrino corresponding to each type of electrically charged lepton. For each of the six leptons there is an antilepton with equal mass and opposite charge.

Forces and Interactions

Now we know the building blocks of matter, but we must also ask: What holds it together? All forces are due to the underlying interactions of the particles. Interactions come in four types: gravitational, electromagnetic, strong, and weak. Gravity is perhaps the most familiar force to us, but it is not included in the Standard Model because its effects are tiny in particle processes and, furthermore, physicists have not yet figured out how to include it.

Electromagnetic forces are also familiar; they are responsible for binding the electrons to the nucleus to form electrically-neutral atoms. Atoms combine to form molecules or crystals because of electromagnetic effects due to their charged substructure. Most everyday forces, such as the support of the floor or friction, are due to the electromagnetic forces in matter that resist displacement of atoms or electrons from their equilibrium positions in the material.

In particle processes the forces are described as due to the exchange of particles; for each type of force there is an associated carrier particle. The carrier particle of the electromagnetic force is the photon; gamma ray is the name given a photon from a nuclear transition.

For distances much larger than the size of an atomic nucleus, the remaining two forces have only tiny effects -- so we never notice them in everyday life. But we depend on them for the existence of all the stuff from which the world is made, and for the decay processes that make some types of matter unstable.

The strong force holds quarks together to form hadrons; its carrier particles are whimsically called gluons because they so successfully "glue" the quarks together. The binding of protons and neutrons to form nuclei is a residual strong interaction effect due to their strongly-interacting quark and gluon constituents. Leptons have no strong interactions.

Weak interactions are the only processes in which a quark can change to another type of quark, or a lepton to another lepton. They are responsible for the fact that all the more massive quarks and leptons decay to produce lighter quarks and leptons. That is why stable matter around us contains only electrons and the lightest two quark types (up and down). The carrier particles of weak interactions are the W and Z bosons. Beta decay of nuclei was the first observed weak process: in a nucleus where there is sufficient energy a neutron becomes a proton and gives off an electron and an antielectron neutrino. This decay changes the atomic number of the nucleus. Beta ray is the name given to the emerging electron.

So now we have explained beta and gamma rays; what about the alpha? The alpha particle is a helium nucleus - one of the products of a nuclear fission. Fission is the breakup of a massive nucleus into smaller nuclei; this occurs when the sum of the masses of the smaller nuclei is less than the mass of the parent nucleus. This is a residual strong interaction effect.

What Questions Remain?

The Standard Model answers many of the questions of the structure and stability of matter with its six types of quarks, six of leptons, and the four force types.

But the Standard Model leaves many other questions unanswered: Why are there three types of quarks and leptons of each charge? Is there some pattern to their masses? Are there more types of particles and forces to be discovered at yet higher-energy accelerators? Are the quarks and leptons really fundamental, or do they, too, have substructure? How can the gravitational interactions be included? What particles form the dark matter in the universe?

Questions such as these drive particle physicists to build and operate new accelerators, so that higher-energy collisions can provide clues to their answers.

back to history page